These are North Carolina motorcycle accident laws that are very important to be aware of:
- Helmet Law – In North Carolina motorcycle helmets are required by law for all riders and passengers.
- Eye Protection – North Carolina does not require eye protection for motorcycle riders.
- Insurance Requirements – Liability insurance is compulsory for all motorcycle riders in North Carolina. The minimum policy limits are $30,000 per person, $60,000 per incident, and $25,000 for property damage.
- Statute of Limitations – In a personal injury action a claim must be brought within three years in most cases. A wrongful death claim must be filed within two years of the date of the death.
Motorcycles Sharing Lanes – According to section 20-146.1 (a) of the North Carolina vehicle code, all motorcycles are entitled to full use of a lane and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such a manner as to deprive any motorcycle of the full use of a lane. This subsection shall not apply to motorcycles operated two abreast in a single lane. 20-146 (b) states that motorcycles shall not be operated more than two abreast in a single lane.
Whether your motorcycle accident was caused by another motorist or was caused through equipment malfunction, you may be entitled to seek money damages for any injuries or loss you sustained. The experienced Asheville personal injury attorneys at Fisher Stark Cash, P.A. understand the complex aspects of North Carolina motorcycle accident cases. If you have questions or concerns about injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident, please contact the Buncombe County motorcycle accident lawyers at Fisher Stark Cash, P.A. today.
Please call us at 1 828 505 4300 for a free case evaluation.